I’ve lost almost 3-1/2 pounds this week. I have found that the ‘big test’ on whether I’m actually hungry or not is when I will eat raw carrots. I like carrots just fine, but I NEVER crave them. The fact that the scales are noticing my efforts is encouraging. So far this week each morning I weigh a bit less. I know this won’t happen every morning, but it’s nice to know it MIGHT. ONE DAY AT A TIME…
I don’t know how long my husband was on Microsoft Chat, but he was still going when I went to bed at 1am this morning. I’m trying to keep Amber quiet so he can get some good rest. The computer rebuild is ongoing. I’m not sure what the status is at this point.
We’re supposed to get to 56 degrees this afternoon. The sun is up there, shining its heart out. A happy-looking day.
My other half requested I make spaghetti today, so I have things together to make that happen later.
Things are looking up here. Things are finally drying out a bit here. It’s overcast, but it’s supposed to be 71 this afternoon and the sun is supposed to make an appearance – at least a cameo.
We’ll leave in about an hour for Lunch Bunch and a couple of errands. I’m taking lettuce from our garden to share with everyone. I LOVE being able to do that. We had a ‘main meal salad’ with chicken I made from a keto recipe previously last night. My husband remarked how good it was. :0) Tonight I’m making “Sausage, Egg and Cheese Bake” by Suzanne Ryan, Simply Keto. I’ve lost almost 32 pounds now. I’ll measure at the end of this month, but I’m hoping there will be less of me from the exercising I’ve been doing. Today I’m doing half an hour of yoga stretches, plus an hour combination of my regular 3 short exercise videos, and the “1B Workout video.” (I’m doing my elliptical trainer and the workout video on alternate days)
We had a brief note from our son this morning. I always feel good when I’ve heard from him. He sounds very busy and happy – all you can ask for.
Our dog, Amber, just caused both my husband and I to jump straight up from our chairs by suddenly letting out a HUGE sneeze – one so hard she hit her chin on the floor. Good thing it’s carpeted. I guess she must be allergic to something. It certainly jump-started our hearts!
I was able to get and print 2 of the 3 things I need from our investment accounts this morning. As soon as I can get the third, we can bag up or tax stuff and take it to our CPA. I always feel so much better when my part of this is done for another year.
I have all appendages crossed that our weather cooperates with me so I can get my massage next week. We’re supposed to get rain Monday and Tuesday, with a possible ‘wintry mix’ Wednesday, just in time for my massage on Thursday. My body would really be grateful if we can keep that appointment.
I’m doing better with my yoga, though. I’m starting to loosen up again, although it will be awhile before I get back to where I was. Why do I have to prove to myself over and over again that this old woman really NEEDS these stretches? I could win a prize for ‘hardest head’ I think. I’m also doing better at keeping my mouth shut this week. I’ve lost 2.5 lbs and hope to continue this, earning gold stars on my calendar. :0)
We’ll leave for Lunch Bunch in about an hour. It was SOOOO good to finally have most of us there last week. I just got a text saying two of us won’t be there. :0( Hopefully, Kay will be there.
I accomplished my goal of losing 2 lbs. last week. I am almost to my goal of reaching the 30-pounds-off-from-my-heaviest weight landmark. I am happy that I’m making some progress toward my goal of losing my lard and getting as strong and flexible as I can.
I did my second yoga practice yesterday. My husband was encouraging, though he has no appreciation for how stiff, sore, and inflexible this old lady can get. He asked me if I were having an easier time of it. I had to tell him that SOME of the positions were a bit better, but some were more difficult, because I hadn’t been practicing as I should – that it would probably be at least Sunday of THIS week before I felt much difference. He is encouraging me – as HE stretches out for a nap in his chair – :0) – and that is good motivation, too.
I feel calm, happy that I am now on the way to being healthier, am practicing good eating habits and exercising. One day at a time. Baby steps – in the right direction.
My husband, who paid no attention whatsoever to what he ate – including a bagel slathered with French Onion and Chives Cream Cheese – lost a full pound. Arrgh!
I got angry with my husband a couple of nights ago because he got grapes and two cookies to eat before bedtime. We had been in the habit of eating something before bed, but usually I brought him something or he brought me something. This time it was ‘every man for himself.’ He told me he was trying to help me with my diet.
I bit him about it, stomping into the kitchen to get myself some cashews.
Last night, he was suddenly standing beside my recliner with a small bowl of cashews in one hand and his snack in his other hand. THIS time I was frustrated because I had not had any snacks all day and now here he was, handing me one.
OKAY. You can easily see the reason for the confession. I’m a mess and should be shot.
I have been thinking about it ever since and finally have figured out what my problem is – I am childishly resenting my husband’s situation.
I’m the one who took responsibility for his Type II diabetes and figured out things he could eat and drink while cutting out as much sugar as we could. He simply griped a bit, but ate what I fixed or bought. He is now on board with avoiding sugar, though he still denies he is diabetic.
He was overweight, but not nearly as much as I. Plus he’s taller, and I resent THAT, too – weight-wise. He is almost never hungry while I go around with my stomach – which thinks my throat has been cut – growls. He is right about where he wants to be weight-wise now while I have another 30 lbs to go. He is now at the point where he can have snacks whenever the thought occurs to him while I try to satisfy myself with another bottle of water.
I’m finished ranting now – or at least I THINK I am.
It is NOT his fault that I stuffed my face for far too long. It is not his fault that he loses weight more quickly than I – even with my efforts to exercise daily – or has less to lose. It is not his fault that I’m not taller. My resentment is misplaced and unfair.
I am now picturing my ‘mental tantrum’ – and deciding that this is something I will change.
I will change the cashews to an apple tonight. I might even share it with him.
I guess I ate lead yesterday. The scales scoffed at me this morning, announcing loudly that I had GAINED TWO POUNDS. Ugh.
We are still doing our new eating program of using a frozen meal from Real Food or Stu’s Clean Cookin’ in Greenwood as our main meal of the day. We have tuna fish salad for lunch and maybe a snack. A careful snack.
Mostly this is resulting in some slow, steady weight loss for both my husband and myself. (He is losing faster than I am though he eats more snacks. :0( )
I am trying to be adult about this, realizing that some days my body will retain water. Sometimes the scales are in a mood to scoff at me. Sometimes I’m not holding my mouth right when I get on the scales.
Today I am fixing our regular tuna fish salad lunch, and then cooking bacon-wrapped hamburger patties for dinner. We will have spinach on the side.
I will drink water until my eyeballs float. I will work outside in the yard some this afternoon, and then will do at least half an hour of yoga stretches this afternoon.
I will try to simply ‘keep on keepin’ on,’ doing what I’m supposed to, trusting that whatever caused the scales to go in the wrong direction will correct itself tomorrow morning. I will hope that the measuring tape will show some improvement at the end of the month.
BUT I WISH THE SCALES WOULD PAT ME ON THE HEAD MORE OFTEN.
I KNOW. I’m probably just retaining water or not holding my mouth right, but it DOES make not eating more difficult.
I ALSO know that some people tell you that you shouldn’t weigh every day. If I don’t, it’s as if I have a ‘pass’ for the day and it doesn’t matter if I eat an ‘extra bite or two.’ If I know I’m going to have to get on the scales the next morning- fingers crossed to see some improvement for my efforts, I have more motivation to NOT eat.
On the good side, my jeans ARE getting looser. I am down 41 – make that 40 this morning – pounds and almost 38 inches since my lardiest.
Our new eating program, where we are eating a HEALTHY frozen food prepared by one of the two new local places in town – REAL FOOD or STU’S CLEAN COOKIN’ – eating tuna fish salad for lunch and a careful snack mid-afternoon – seems to be keeping us on track. On the weekends I am cooking, but combining something we have missed with careful cooking and attention to portions. Yesterday I fixed pork chops and black-eyed peas with onion. We’ll eat the leftovers from that tonight.
For the past week I have been working hard in the garden, trying to get it protected from the winter and mostly prepared for spring planting. This involves about an hour a day of standing on my head in various trash cans filling up buckets for the recipe of Mel’s Mix, a soil alternative for my raised bed square foot garden. I then haul a big plastic yard pail full of Mel’s Mix over to the garden, lift it and dump it in the middle of one of my planter boxes, then spread it around. Because I have been doing this every day, I have not done my ‘regular’ exercise.
Now that the garden project is finished, I will go back to yoga stretching every day and my elliptical trainer at least three times a week, if not daily.
English Lion – ideascuttingagainstthegrain.blogspot.ca
We received the non-frozen portion of our latest Nutrisystem order this morning. We got everything put away, but something was missing! I finally connected with the CHAT portion of the website and waited to talk to a counselor. RebeccaL looked up my account and confirmed with URL that it said the bear had been shipped separately and that it had been delivered! The URL said it had been delivered to our mailbox.
We had errands in Fort Smith, and stopped at the mailbox at the bottom of the driveway on the way. And there it was! A sweet, lusciously purple small bear who said, “20” on his lapel, indicating that my second milestone has officially been achieved and recognized.
I feel a bit embarrassed that I was SO disappointed when my bear wasn’t included in my new box of food, but it’s true. I LIKE getting pats on the head when I’m finally losing the lard (albeit slowly). With what I still want to lose, I’ll hopefully have a whole ROW of these sweet little bears by the time I reach my goal!
In another 2 weeks I will have been eating low carb and exercising for one year.
I’ve lost 46 lbs and 22″.
I’ve run into a hurdle, in that my body is having trouble fully processing fat. I had my gallbladder out several years ago and apparently that adds a challenge. I researched it on the net and found a pill duo that seems to be solving the problem!
I just got an Instant Pot
a 5 quart pressure cooker. It’s supposed to save 70% of cooking time. I’m interested in anything that helps me cook nice meals without staying in the kitchen a lot. I’ll report to you if I find some good low carb recipes in the book I got to go with it.
We cooked burgers on the grill last night. I had a burger, salad, black olives, and green olives while my husband enjoyed a bun, potato salad, cole slaw, beans and some of my salad. Delicious, and low carb!
It would be nice if I could reach 50 lbs off by the time I see my doctor for my quarterly blood test, but if I don’t, I’ll get there in whatever time it takes. The ultimate goal is another 25 pounds off from where I am now. That would put me at a healthy weight for my height. (Hopefully, I’ll quick shrinking or my ‘ultimate’ will have to increase…)
Meanwhile, even with the awful heat and humidity we’re having, my energy level is better than it’s been for years. I feel good and am dreaming of art projects I want to try. :0)